top of page

50 Ways To Practice Self-Love Using Your Love Language

On a scale of 1-10 how much do you love yourself right now?

Self-love encompasses not only how you treat yourself but also your thoughts and feelings about yourself. Self-love means that you accept yourself fully, treat yourself with kindness and respect, and nurture your growth and wellbeing.

Why do we need to love ourselves?

"If you grew up without any models for self-love or anyone who talked to you about the importance of being good to yourself, you might question its value.

Well, without self-love, you're likely to be highly self-critical and fall into people-pleasing and perfectionism. You're more likely to tolerate abuse or mistreatment from others. You may neglect your own needs and feelings because you don't value yourself. And you may self-sabotage or make decisions that aren't in your own best interest.

Self-love is the foundation that allows us to be assertive, set boundaries and create healthy relationships with others, practice self-care, pursue our interests and goals, and feel proud of who we are." (Sharon Martin)

What Are The 5 Love Languages?

  1. Words of Affirmation - This Love Language is all about words. Kind and encouraging words. People who have this language need to hear kind words in order to feel loved.

  2. Physical Touch - This Love Language is all about physical touch. This doesn’t necessarily mean physical intimacy, but any type of physical affection like holding hands, hugging, or even just sitting close. People with this language feel loved when they have physical contact with their partner.

  3. Receiving Gifts - This Love Language is all about the thoughtfulness of a gift. It’s not about the cost, but the thought behind it. People with this language feel loved when they receive gifts, no matter how small.

  4. Quality Time - This Love Language is all about spending time together. It’s not just quantity, but quality. These people feel loved when they can have undivided attention from their partner.

  5. Acts of Service - This Love Language is all about doing things for others. It could be making dinner, taking the dog for a walk, or filling up their car with gas. People who have this language feel loved when their partner does something to help them out.

Do you know your main love language? Take this simple quiz below to find out!

Here Are 50 Ways To Practice Self-Love Using Your Love Language:

Words of Affirmation

  1. Repeat self-love affirmations

  2. Start a gratitude journal

  3. Write positive notes to yourself and stick them around your space

  4. Self-love meditation

  5. Write yourself a love letter

  6. Take time to journal and reflect daily with yourself

  7. Listen to self-love podcasts

  8. Create a self-love playlist

  9. Make artwork with inspiring messages for yourself

  10. Record yourself saying all the things you love about yourself and watch whenever you feel down or as often as you want

Physical Touch

  1. Cultivate a beautiful skincare routine

  2. Draw yourself a bath

  3. Schedule a massage or facial appointment

  4. Exfoliate

  5. Do some yoga or gentle stretching

  6. Pleasure yourself ;-)

  7. Use body oils to moisture your skin

  8. Schedule a hair or nail appointment

  9. Give yourself a big hug for at least one whole minute

  10. Create a consistent workout schedule

Receiving Gifts

  1. Buy yourself flowers

  2. Enroll in a new class or course

  3. Start a DIY project

  4. Order take out

  5. Invest in your business or hobbies

  6. Do a little retail therapy

  7. Splurge on something you've been wanting to get

  8. Celebrate your achievements and treat yourself

  9. Plan a trip that you've been wanting to go on

  10. Revamp your space with new home décor items

Quality Time

  1. Schedule a date night with yourself

  2. Go to a café

  3. Explore nature

  4. Read a book or watch a tv series

  5. Meditate

  6. Wake up early to watch the sunrise

  7. Watch the sunset somewhere by yourself

  8. Make plans with close friends

  9. Listen to music and dance alone

  10. Paint or draw by yourself

Acts of Service

  1. Check something off your to-do list

  2. Do something your future self will thank you for

  3. Declutter or clean your space

  4. Cook yourself a nourishing meal

  5. Donate to a cause you believe in

  6. Volunteer

  7. Set monthly goals to work towards

  8. Set healthy boundaries

  9. Let go of what is no longer serving you

  10. Meal prep for the week ahead

“Love yourself. Be clear on how you want to be treated. Know your worth. Always.” – Maryam Hasnaa


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page